Books · Series · The Raven Cycle

The Raven boys by Maggie Stiefvater review

This is the first book of the four book series The Raven Cycle so let me tell you a little bit about what is going on before giving you my review.I am just going to take a small part of the plot from wikipedia:

“The Raven Cycle follows the story of Blue Sargent, Richard Gansey III, Adam Parrish, Ronan Lynch, and Noah Czerny as they attempt to find the sleeping Welsh king Glendower. The story begins in The Raven Boys with an introduction to Blue and her psychic family members. Blue accompanies Neeve, her half-aunt, to a ghost watch where Neeve sees the spirits of the people in Henrietta, Virginia who will die in the coming year. Blue see the spirit of a boy named Gansey and Neeve tells her that she will either love or kill him. Later, Blue meets Gansey, Adam, Ronan, and Noah while she’s working at a restaurant. She learns of their quest and despite a bad introduction joins them in finding Glendower.”

 

Now that we are done with this, let me tell you what I thought about the book.

Let me start with the best part of the book, which is the characters. Seriously, I’ve been in love with Ronan since the beginning of the book. He is the well known bad boy of every book, but I still can’t get over him. Gansey is also great. I guess he is that perfect boy every girl wants to be with, but the fact that he hadn’t had such an easy past makes him more interesting and appealing. Blue’s another stereotypical weird girl who ends up having a fascinating life and the perfect boy falls in love with her. She is pretty cool, but I can’t say that she has anything outstanding about herself. On the other hand, Adam was a real disappointment. I mean, the idea of him is great. A poor boy working a lot of jobs just to put himself through high-school and dreaming about a rich lifestyle, but it gets pretty annoying when he keeps complaining about things and how life isn’t right.

Also,the story is thrilling.The whole idea is so new and original and I have never r4ead a book about this type of adventure. It is a mix of non-fiction and fiction put it all together in a pretty cover.

On the other hand, I can’t say that the book attracted me THAT much and here is why. You know how some writers just have a way to write things? Like, the way they put sentences together and the way they describe something just makes you want to keep reading until your eyes hurt? Well, that wasn’t the case. I don’t know why, but the way the book was written just didn’t make me want to keep reading it. The only reason why I finished it is because I am just in love with the characters and the idea of the book is interesting.

Honestly, I don’t regret reading the book and I will sure finish the series. So, if you like long descriptions, fantasy and old sleeping kings, then this book is surely a good choice for you.

 

If you have read the book, what did you think of it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

